Article 11 cities

Article 11 cities: definition, role and list

In the period 2021-2027, the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) supports integrated territorial development based on territorial or community-led local development to addresses economic, environmental, climate, demographic and social challenges.

The term “Article 11 cities” in this context refers to urban areas or functional urban areas that finance sustainable urban development projects under the ERDF/Cohesion Fund in line with Article 11 of the Regulation (EU) 2021/1058. These sustainable urban development initiatives are based on Integrated Territorial Investments (ITI), Community-led local development (CLLD) or another territorial tool supporting initiatives designed by the Member States in accordance with Article 29 of the Regulation (EU) 2021/1060.    

Knowing who are the article 11 cities is important in the context of European Urban Initiative because the primary beneficiary of a Peer Review is a city eligible to receive ERDF support for the development and implementation of its sustainable urban development (SUD) strategy.

This is because – as an instrument of EU Cohesion Policy – EUI prioritises the achievement of EU Cohesion Policy objectives and maximising the impact of EU funding support.

Beyond the Peer Reviews and capacity-building activities, all EUI activities welcome and encourage the participation of article 11 cities. 

How do I know if my city is ‘Article 11’?

You can check this by accessing this table and filtering it down according to your country.

This list reflects the status of the information available as of April 2024 and does not claim to be complete. Regular updates are carried out.

Who is selecting the ‘Article 11’ cities?

It is the relevant ERDF Managing Authority and or Intermediate Body – at national or regional level – in each country that defines its Article 11 cities. This is an ongoing process.